PRESIDENT: Siobhán McNulty VICE PRESIDENT: Glascott Symes MA IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT: Hugh Crawford MA

HONORARY SECRETARY

Vacant ckassecretary@gmail.com

HONORARY TREASURER

Jacqueline Kelly FCA Carrigalea, Narraghmore Athy Tel: 059 8636568 treasurer@kildarearchsoc.ie

HONORARY EDITOR

Professor Mary Ann Lyons Department of History Maynooth University editor@kildarearchsoc.ie

AUDITOR

Joe Ahearne FCA

HONORARY MEMBERSHIP SECRETARY

Greg Connelly Newington House Christianstown, Newbridge W12 TW60 Tel: 087 2555783 ckasmembers@gmail.com

HONORARY MINUTES SECRETARY

Elizabeth Connelly Newington House Christianstown, Newbridge W12 TW60 Tel:083 8620101 ckassecretary@gmail.com

HONORARY ASSISTANT EDITOR

Professor Raymond Gillespie Department of History Maynooth University

WEBMASTER

Charlotte Howard MA www.webmaster17@kildarearchsoc.ie

COUNCIL MEMBERS

Sean Byrne MSc, MIPI Eamon Kane BA Brian McCabe Darina McCarthy MA Oliver Murphy Frank Taaffe Kevin Murphy Kieran Downey

PAST PRESIDENTS

Conleth Manning MA, FSA Elizabeth Connelly MLIS

Printed by Millbrook Press, Naas

County Kildare Archaeological Society



Established 1891 www.kildarearchsoc.ie

2023 PROGRAMME

Saturday 28 January, 9.15am The Burning of The Big House

Ŷ

Venue: Palmerstown House, Johnstown Free event in association with County Kildare Decade of Commemorations Committee



An Roinn Turasóireachta, Cultúir, Ealaíon, Gaeltachta, Spóirt agus Meán

Department of Tourism, Culture,

Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media

Speakers: Professor Terence Dooley, Council member Brian McCabe, Kildare County Council Heritage Officer Bridget Loughlin & Architectural Conservation Officer Ruth Kidney Tea/Coffee and light lunch provided. Register via bit.ly/3ioyKNJ Email localhistory@kildarecoco.ie or phone 087 3611439

Sunday 12 March, 3.00pm

'Elizabeth Smith of Baltyboys' (1798-1883)

An illustrated talk by Rory O'Farrell Venue: Kilcullen Heritage Centre €5 Tea/coffee

Wednesday 26 April, 2.00pm Visit to the Russell Library, Special Collections and Archive, Maynooth University

Guide: Alexandra Caccamo €5 Tea/coffee

Sunday 21 May, 2.30pm *A talk on Woodturning by Emmet Kane* Followed by a visit to his studio/workshop Venue: Teach Diarmada, Main Street, Castledermot, R141 YF61 €6 Tea/coffee

Sunday 18 June, 3.00pm Visit to Johnstown Bridge and to Dun Fierth, Co. Kildare

Guide: Conleth Manning (Past President) Meet at Old Dun Fierth Church €5 Tea/coffee

Sunday 9 July, 12.00 noon (Annual Excursion) Hamwood House and Gardens, Dunboyne, Co. Meath

By courtesy of Mr and Mrs Charles Hamilton Picnic on the lawn followed by a tour of the house and gardens Numbers are limited - please book by 26 June on enclosed booking form

Monday 31 July at 7.30pm

Talk on Lord Walter FitzGerald on the 100th Anniversary of his death

Speaker: Hugh Crawford (Immediate Past President) **Venue:** Kilkea Castle, Castledermot, the de Lacey Suite *Please book by 17 July on enclosed booking form*

Tuesday 15 August, 7.00pm (Heritage Week)

Walk and talk on the engineering and transport history in the Sallins environs highlighting the 1783/1883/1983 sequence Speaker: Liam Kenny No charge

Saturday 23 September, 2.30pm Guided tour of Dunlavin, Co. Wicklow Speaker: Chris Lawlor. Meet by the Fair Green €5 Tea/coffee

Saturday 21 October at 7.00pm Launch of the CKAS Journal Vol XXIV Venue: Clanard Court Hotel, Athy Booking essential - please book by 7 October on enclosed booking form

Saturday 25 November, 3.00pm Annual General Meeting Venue: Hotel Keadeen, Newbridge Tea/coffee

COUNCIL MEETINGS FOR OFFICERS AND COUNCIL MEMBERS

2.30pm at Naas Branch Library, by kind permission of Kildare County Council.
14 January • 1 April • 24 June • 9 September • 11 November